Atlantis Music Conference 2004 Wind-Up

0

Ok. I have finally fucking caught my breath over Atlantis 2004. What can I say? It was fucking nuts. Three hundred acts were at twenty different venues. How in the name of fuck could I have been everywhere? MusicIncider had an active staff of THREE at the time-so I parked my ass at home, The Masquerade, for most of the weekend. Don’t get me wrong, I would have very much liked to fucking clone myself and be at all twenty venues. I missed some bands I truly fucking love like Jad and Uncrowned in hopes of being able to see as much as I possibly fucking could at the Masquerade. -The Masquerade had Heaven, Hell, and Purgatory rolling for the whole weekend. Brilliant metal acts like Gargamel, Hognutt, and Nice Guy were in tiny little Purgatory. Metal hip-hop acts like Jemani and Crazy Anglos were in Heaven. Hell was for the the hard rock bands like Pivot and American Devils with a few goth acts like Last Dance and Belle Morte thrown in for good measure. Check out the photographic link for a little photo essay of my weekend at Atlantis. -There were absolute standouts in my mind. The Jagermeister sponsored bands Pivot and Jemani come to mind first. -Let’s talk about Pivot. Pivot is a hard rock outfit out of North Carolina with Kevin Juda on vocals, Phil Cicco on drums, Mike Hambright on bass, and Eric Hambright on guitar. Pivot works hard and is worth the price of a ticket anywhere. -Jemani. Believe the fucking hype about them. They do sound like Busta Rhymes meets Pantera. Ike has to be the most interesting front man I have seen in a long time-and he is wildly fucking intelligent too. The man has an English degree from Howard. Jemani had waited four years to get into the AMC. Jemani and Pivot were hurt by their assigned time slots. Pivot started a long evening EARLY, meaning before you got a chance to check them out and Jemani did not take the stage until one a.m.-when most of you turned into fucking pumpkins. You missed a couple of ass kicking sets. -American Devils brought a fucking CROWD with them. American Devils gonna mess with your mind. American Devils has this bluesy hard rock sound with a strong KISS influence. Ryan Wexler knows how to work a crowd and has a huge set of pipes to match. I have been watching them for a long time, and they are getting amazing. American Devils have opened for such acts as Fozzy, Sick Speed, and the mighty Dog Fashion Disco. If I had to crown an absolute winner-they would tie with Last Dance. -Last Dance is fronted by the absolutely enchanting Jeff Diehm. I could have fucking shot him all night. He just oozes this dark sex appeal that fits the music. I wonder how Rick Joyce plays guitar in heels. Last Dance took the stage very late due to technical problems so it was a short set, but let this be a lesson to you children-if you set your shit up right before you play it will sound good. Always sound good. They also took the time to give away KISS tickets and let two of their fans sing happy birthday to each other. Not too fucking shabby.

The metal acts were in Purgatory. Good shots were almost fucking impossible to get. Nice Guy kicks ass. I love Nice Guy. I love the guys in Nice Guy. Stirling and the guys just keep getting better and better. Nice Guy is probably one of the most underrated bands in Atlanta. Think Anthrax meets Cannibal Corpse. Good shit. Great shit. -Gargamel is a tight fucking band. The music is EXCELLENT, but what is going to get you and get you good is the vocals. Think Frank Zappa BEFORE the censors kick in with the same complicated heavy metal music arrangements. I also caught a Budweiser True Music band called Confliction. Confliction needed more space-they were too fucking constrained. Every one of the metal bands needed more space, but if Confliction cut loose any more somebody was going to get hurt.

The metal hip-hop bands were upstairs. If you came early, you got to catch the ghetto metal of E.X. Vortex. E.X. Puts on a good show. They have that crunk Lil’ John thing happening mixed with some really hard shit like SlipKnot. Their style as a band is still evolving. They are going somewhere. -The Crazy Anglos took the stage. You may not know this, but the Anglos have been recently signed to Atlantic and these hard working little fuckers deserve all the good things in the world that happen to them. They have been around and working hard since their early teen years. I first caught these guys at Music Midtown two years ago and thought they were cute, now they just plain old kick ass. Two years is a long time. -The surprise for me was a great local band called GREEDY WHITE CITIZENS managed by Nina out of Tree Sound Studios. They have an absolute cult following in Atlanta, a huge powerhouse sound that will remind you of Tool and Incubus, and they are a bunch of good looking bastards. I could easily see them on Universal or Metal Blade right now.

As a venue-Atlantis is worth it for the fan. You get a wristband and access to twenty different clubs around town. Just plan in advance who you want to see and where you want to be. It is a bitch to pay to park everywhere, but getting in and out of the club is pretty simple. As a venue for a band, be prepared to push your show wherever it may be unless you get yourself into a label showcase. It has to be a letdown to play for ten people at one o’clock in the morning. As a place to learn and network, you can’t beat Atlantis. Everywhere I looked, there were bands exchanging info for gig swaps and there were people to pass demos to. So it really depends on WHAT you are coming to Atlantis for, if you are a band come to learn some shit and network. If you are a fan, plan your weekend. Call the fucking club if you have never been there before and ask what kind of music is on the bill. Never give up dreaming though, Sugarland Boke out of Atlants 2003.-Now for the downside, I thought Atlantis was for unsigned bands but acts like Midtown and Lost Prophets were on the bill (with all due respect to Butch Walker). Maybe it was to push ticket sales, but a whole fucking bunch of people showed up for just Midtown and Lost Prophets and did not check anything else out.

So, really I went to the metal hip-hop and goth showcases at The Masquerade (I have pictures). Fuck, it was goth and metal hip-hop at the Masquerade-when is the next time that will happen? I was disappointed that the metal bands were pushed to Purgatory when it could have been their shot at playing Heaven. Will I go again? Oh fuck yeah. Should you? Oh fuck yeah, it is more than worth the money.

2004 Artist List with links (taken from atlantismusic.com)

23jinx www.23jinx.com
7 Sharp 9 www.sevensharpnine.com
7-10 Split www.7-10split.org
a fir-ju well www.afirjuwell.com
Acres www.acresmusic.com
Adelayda www.adelayda.com
Adrian “The Rock Star” Holoman www.cleftworks.com
Agynst www.agynst.com
AKIVA www.akivamusic.com
Allison Irby
Alterstate www.alterstateonline.com
Amber J. Quinteiro www.amberquinteiro.com
American Devils www.americandevils.net
Anchor
ARI BEN MOSES BAND www.aribenmosesband.com
Arkitekt www.arkitektmusic.com
ArLington www.arlingtonrocks.com
Army of Me www.armyofmeonline.com
Atoosa www.atoosa.net
Avenge Vegas www.avengevegas.com
Backseat Superstars www.backseatsuperstars.com
Bain Mattox www.bainmattox.com
BANG THE UNION www.bangtheunion.com
Bella Morte www.bellamorte.com
Bellglide www.bellglide.com
Betty Rebel
Bianca www.BiancasWebsite.com
Big Sky www.bigskyband.com
Bishop Don www.bishopdon.com
Bitch
Black Ant
Black Fish Pink
Bloody Sods www.bloodysods.com
Blue Dahlia www.bluedahlia.com
Boulevard www.boulevardrock.com
Boxelder www.boxelder.com
Brandon Kelley www.brandonkelley.com
Brazz Tree www.brazztree.com
Brett Schieber www.brettmusic.net
Brian Stephens & The Atlanta All-Stars www.BrianStephens.com
Brindley Brothers www.brindleybrothers.com
Butta
Caddle www.caddle.com
Caesar Lopez www.metroforest.com/trustclient.html
Captain Easy www.captaineasy.com
Cartel www.cartelrocks.com
Christie Cook
Ciera Hollyfield
Claire Bradley www.clairebradley.com
Clay Cook (Band) www.claycook.com
Collard Green www.collardgreenmusic.com
Confliction www.conflictionband.com
Copper www.copperlive.com
CORE www.coregasm.com
Crazy Anglos www.crazyanglos.com
Darien Brockington
David Berkeley www.davidberkeley.com
David Roland www.davidroland.com
De Novo Dahl www.denovodahl.com
Dean Fields www.deanfields.com
Dean Rene
Deep Shag www.deepshagband.com
Derek Clegg Group www.derekclegggroup.com
Dirty Rose
Divine Maggees www.divinemaggees.com
Divinity www.mcdivinity.com
Dropsonic www.dropsonic.com
Dymond
E.X. Vortex www.exvortex.indiegroup.com
Ed Zachary www.edzachary.net
Ede Wright Group
Edgewood www.edgewoodrocks.com
Ego Static www.egostatic.com
EGOSTATIC www.egostatic.com
eighteen visions
[embassy]www.rockembassy.com
Emic www.emicmusic.com
Empire Isis
Endochine www.endochine.com
Endless Array www.endlessarray.com
eNTERTAINME.nt www.entertainme-nt.com
Entropy www.entropyfunk.com
Eric Michael Hopper www.ericmichaelhopper.com
Eric Thomas
Entyse
Erik Dillard
Ether Seeds www.etherseeds.com
evenout www.evenoutmusic.com
Everlasting Earle www.everlastingearle.com
Eyes Around www.eyesaround.com
F.I.R.E. www.blazinfire.iuma.com
Fam Boyz
Five Eight www.fiveeight.com
Five Star Iris www.fivestariris.com
Frank Ford
Gareth Asher www.garethasher.com
GARGAMEL! www.gargamel.net
Gargantua Soul www.gsoul.com
GoodNight City www.goodnightcitymusic.com
Greedy White Citizens www.gwcmusic.com
Guernica www.guernicaband.com
HAZIQ
Heavy Mojo www.heavymojomusic.com
Heidi Hensley www.heidihensley.com
Hognutt www.hognutt.com
Homeroom www.ilovehomeroom.com
Honestly www.honestlyband.com
Hot Young Priest www.hotyoungpriest.com
ILL MIC www.illmic.com
ILLBREAK www.garethasher.com/illbreak
Indorphine www.indorphine.com
Inobe www.inobe.com
Insight
International Groove Conspiracy
Jackson Sneed www.jacksonsneed.com
Jacqui Simone www.jacqui.babyjupiter.com
JāD www.jadtheband.com
Jason Marcum www.jasonmarcum.com
Jason Tillery www.jasontillery.com
jasper www.jasperdirect.net
Jeff Coffey www.jeffcoffey.com
Jemani www.riphop.com
Joe Condiracci www.joecondiracci.com
Joe Rathbone www.joerathbone.com
John the Baptist www.johnnybap.com
John Wubbenhorst and ‘Facing East’ www.facingeast.com
Jonz www.jonzmusique.com
Jordan Dollar
Jovan
K. Noire
K. Willis and The Collection www.kwillisandthecollections.com
KaZual www.parlaymusicgroup.com
Kelly Andrews Band www.kellyandrews.net
Kelly Love Jones www.kellylovejones.com
Kellylee Evans www.KellyleeEvans.com
kia star www.mp3.com/shakea
Kiyamma www.kiyamma.com
Kyler www.kylerengland.com
Lalo www.lalovibe.com
Laney Strickland’s Dixie Union www.laneymusic.com
Lanji
Lazyeye www.lazyeyemusic.com
Leah Zicari www.leahzicari.com
Left Front Tire www.leftfronttire.com
Lexi Street www.lexistreet.com
Lights Out www.lightsoutmusic.com
Linger www.lingermusic.com
Lisa Alice www.lisaalice.com
Listen www.listenatlanta.com
Long Story Short www.longstoryshortmusic.com
Lorna Bracewell www.lornabracewell.com
Lost Prophets
Louise Mosrie www.louisemosrie.com
LT
Lucas Woodgeard www.lucaswoodgeard.com
Lucid Fly www.lucidfly.com
Luna Halo www.lunahalo.com
LZO www.lzorocks.com
MADOCA www.madoca.biz
Mama’s Moonshine www.dirtypie-online.com
Mann Da G.R.A.V.E.D.I.G.G.A. www.natloveentertainment.com
Mara www.marasong.com
Marat www.maratband.com
Marcus Pittman www.marcuspittman.com
Matt White Band www.mattwhiteband.com
McIvor Mann www.mcivormann.om
Melanie Denard www.melaniedenard.com
Metropolis www.metopolissoul.com
Michael J www.michaeljmusic.com
Michael Levine www.michaellevine.net
Midtown
Mieka Pauley www.mieka.com
MILKA www.milkarocks.com
Minamina Goodsong
Modern Groove Syndicate www.moderngroovesyndicate.com
Mr. Brimidge www.mr.brimidge.com
My-Kal www.dai-lorecordings.com
Myssouri www.myssouri.com
Myze Well www.myzewell.com
Nathan Mayberry www.nathanmayberry.com
Natty Nation www.nattynation.com
Nina Stephens
Nissi Bergman www.jansmith.com
NOVA4Jehovah www.nova4jehovah.com
Nuclear Saturday www.nuclearsaturday.com
OKTBRWRLD www.oktbrwrld.com
Ommi
Outshine www.outshinemusic.com
Over October www.overoctober.com
Pacifico www.pacificorock.com
Pageant www.pageantmusic.com
PaperStreet www.paperstreetband.com
Paul Christianson www.paulchristianson.com
Pete Schmidt www.peteschmidtmusic.com
Peter Searcy
Pivot www.pivotband.com
Poor Righteous Teacher
Population 39 www.pop39.com
PYRITE www.pyriterock.com
Racket City www.analysisrecords.com, www.racketcity.net
Re Rene
Red Hot Poker Dots www.redhotpokerdots.com
Red Letter Agent http://www.redletteragent.com
Reed Waddle Band www.reedwaddle.com
Reigndrop Lopes
Remains of the Day www.daysremain.com
Retrospect www.retrospectweb.com
Revelation Blessed
Rockets to Ruin www.rocketstoruin.com
Royal 7 www.royal7.com
Rua 6 www.rua6.com
Rudy Currence www.rudygc3.com
Sam Shaber Band www.samshaber.com, www.smgrecords.com
Samara
Scar
Screen Door www.screendoorjam.com
Se7ven www.Se7ven.com
Sea Lo
Second Shift www.secondshiftmusic.com
Sevon
Spencer Rush www.spencerrush.com
Spiryt www.elinklab.com
Stephanie Haymes www.stephaniehaymes.com
Style Over Substance www.styleoversubstance.net
Suckerpunch
Sunday Driver www.driveonsunday.com
Swagger
Sway www.swayrock.net
Tacara
Tammy Allen www.tammyallen.com
Tasha LaRae
Team Emu www.team-emu.com
Terri Davis
The Booze www.geosite.com/motherdigmygrave/thebooze.html
The Brew www.thebrewmusic.com
The Californias www.thecalifornias.tk
The Drexlers www.thedrexlers.net
The Duke www.thedukerocks.com
The Empire Hideous www.empirehideous.com
The Five L’s www.thefivels.com
The Force www.theforcerock.com
The Jeff Wood Project
The Julia Dream www.thejuliadream.com
The Julius Airwave www.juliusairwave.com
The Last Dance www.thelastdance.com
The New Blacks www.thenewblacks.com
The Paper Champions www.thepaperchampions.com
The Phamily
The Poeboy Society
The Rantings of Eva www.therantingsofeva.com
The Shut-Ups www.shutups.com
The Swear www.theswear.com
The Talk www.the-talk.com
The Taste www.thetasteonline.com
The Tom Collins www.thetomcollins.com
The Tom Collins www.thetomcollins.com
The Vacant Halls www.thevacanthalls.com
The Warm Gunns www.thewarmgunns.com
The Whigs www.whigs.net
Threat www.threatboyz.com
Three5Human www.three5human.com
To Whom It Concerns www.towhomlive.com
Tony Rich www.tony-rich.com
Tony Weeks www.tonyweeks.com
TrancesArc www.trancesarc.com
Trina Brussard
UNCROWNED www.uncrowned.com
Undone www.transmissionrock.com
UNION DRAG www.uniondrag.com
UNITED www.bandunited.com
Vagabond 12 www.vagabond12.com
Vinyldrive www.vinyldrivemusic.com
Wastegate www.wastegateband.com
Whild Peach www.whildpeach.com
Willie Hill and Friends www.insprireproductions.biz
X
Y-O-U www.pleaserock.com
Yall Street
Yewande www.yewande.com
Young Boss

Share.

About Author

My name is Barbara Fara. Musicincider.com is my baby. I am a psychic and a photographer-and a writer! I am more than a little crazy, because I love taking pictures with people body surfing over my head

Comments are closed.